Author Topic: Porsche 924S/931 "Gulf" race-car project  (Read 10937 times)

Offline PeepPaadam

• BHP: 8
Porsche 924S/931 "Gulf" race-car project
« on: March 08, 2009, 03:58:00 pm »
Thought I throw some pics about my track car project that I've been working on since December 2007. I bought the shell with roll-cage and paint-job done from my Latvian friend Alfreds. He raced it with 924 NA engine (built with 931 head and VEMS efi by me) and decided to make a new and more powerful track car of his 951.

Here are the specs of this car:
931 engine with VW flat-tops, K27/29 hybrid, Holbert/GTR intercooler, ITB intake, 630cc Siemens Deka injectors.
931 dog-leg gearbox, alloy rear arms, custom solid aluminium anodized mounts, Racers Edge uniball A-arm mounts, 951S brakes all around, BBS RS 16x8 and 16x9 forged 3piece wheels.
Dash is covered with black alcantara, I'm using stock gauges+LCD display for VEMS and two progressive shift-lights.
For some reason this car has late-style windshield.
Some pics:
In it's previous life with NA engine:

Custom rear suspension mounts and 951S caliper adapters made by me. BTW mounting bolts are safety-wired:

New crossmember made in order to mount oil cooler, Holbert/GTR intercooler and 951 radiator:

A bit rusty front discs:

and not rusty rear ones:

Oil catch tank:

Also finished and fitted fuel surge tank.

Intercooler in place:

Vacuum manifold for ITB's:

Rear wheels, since they are 9" wide and ET36 (also alloy rear arms), fenders need some "rolling" with 5kg hammer :D

Fitted the gas tank.

Intake plumbing complete, just need to buy some silicone hose connections:

Offline [email protected]

• BHP: 49
    • VEMS Forum
Re: Porsche 924S/931 "Gulf" race-car project
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 04:03:21 pm »
Loving that!  What's it like on the track?

Offline PeepPaadam

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 05:03:05 pm »