Author Topic: Newb question - ebc pwm to close or open?  (Read 8794 times)

Offline BigD

• BHP: 6
Newb question - ebc pwm to close or open?
« on: May 15, 2011, 08:49:54 pm »
Hi guys,

Sorry I'm still learning EBC so please bare with me if these are painfully basic questions. When you install the solenoid, do you install it so with no power, the WG sees full pressure, or none? Seems like a safer idea to leave it open and control the flow by closing. But then the "valve off until X boost" seems to be backwards vs the intent. I assume the purpose of the feature is to build boost as quickly as possible. But for that to work as intended, don't you have to have the valve dump boost when closed? So in effect, to have max boost build until certain pressure, don't you need the valve to be ON the other way (valve off = full boost to WG)?

Also, say I have a 14 psi spring, and I want to have 25-30psi in top gear, and lower boost in the earlier gears. I see most people leave the bottom port alone and boost-control the top port. Is there any benefit to providing the reference boost to the top port, and then boost-controlling the bottom one (negative signal)? With that arrangement, I can see how "valve off until X pressure" working as intended if valve off = full boost signal, since with the valve off, the WG will have 0 net pressure.

Offline BigD

Re: Newb question - ebc pwm to close or open?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 09:48:57 pm »
Since my boost valve is a MAC, I looked up the AEM instructions to see how they recommend hooking it up and it just confuses me further. It seems to only suggest the way I'm thinking for an internal WG. But for external, they seem to suggest a method similar to what I mentioned last, that I haven't heard recommended elsewhere: