Author Topic: New Ignition coils resulting in burnt stepper motor driver  (Read 8627 times)

Offline uni27

• BHP: 0
New Ignition coils resulting in burnt stepper motor driver
« on: September 14, 2017, 11:20:06 pm »
Hello everyone, I'm new to this VEMS business and need your advice on what I did wrong with this and how to resolve for the future.
Here is what I'm dealing with, just to clarify i just bought this car and did not install or connect any of the equipment:
Audi 5 cylinder turbo around 500hp
Vems 3.3 with aftermarket audi ignition coils, type: HUCO
I have been having ignition problems, misfiring under high boost which I thought might be ignition coil related after I had replaced the spark plugs. So i had an idea of replacing the aftermarket coils with brand new Audi 06A906115D coils which are comparable to the huco ones that were in the car.
After replacing the coils the car was running well until I went WOT under load the #3A fuse for the ECU input blew and the engine died.
Next step i tried replacing the fuse but it always blew 1 sec after switching the ignition on. after some time and alot of brain storming I decided to open the ECU and there was this burnt stepper motor driver.
Now I don't know alot about this VEMS ECU or any ECU's at all but is this normal? I have been reading about the driver that it can only handle 1A current at 5V-36V are the OEM ignition coils using more current than the aftermarket ones or what do you think?
Also one of the ignition coils was connected the conventional way with the resistor and ignition driver and that could handle the new coil while the other driver burned.
I'm wondering why someone would connect it this way, is it because it is impossible to connect all 5 coils the other way with the conventional driver or?

Any input on this well appreciated

Offline wersch

• BHP: 1
  • ECU installer in Sweden
Re: New Ignition coils resulting in burnt stepper motor driver
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 09:50:10 am »