Author Topic: BMW E36 328i Turbo project - having trouble starting engine...  (Read 21879 times)

Offline Jackmcl

• BHP: 0
About 18 months ago I began the project, with very little background in this type of thing; but I'm a quick learner!

First of all apologies if I sound like a complete newbie - I'm out of my comfort zone when it comes to electronics and programming, so please keep it simple with the VEMS language - I'm still very much at the bottom of the learning curve here!

I'm having trouble getting her to start, but first I'll start with the spec:

M52 aluminium block / cylinder head
ARP head studs & Cometics 0.140" MLS head gasket

Custom made exhaust manifold

Single Vanos - (haven't got as far as wiring this in yet...)

M50 manifold

and custom made pipework from turbo outlet through intercooler and into intake manifold.
Front mount intercooler and aftermarket oil cooler

Currently using a cheap universal turbo for the mock-ups - I have a Holset HX40 waiting to go on, once I can get the thing running!
38mm external wastegate with screamer pipe

Vems loom going in

and powering up

Basically - the engine cranks on the key, but I'm not getting any ignition...
I loaded a config file base map sent to me by @gunni and he's currently taking a look at it for me to help me get it started
Does anyone have any suggestions?

Offline stroft

• BHP: 1
Re: BMW E36 328i Turbo project - having trouble starting engine...
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 12:33:32 am »
OK. Can you see rpm during the cranking ? It should be around 200rpm.

Offline Jackmcl

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 01:21:12 pm »
Yeah, the rpm gauge shows values, can't remember the exact figures I've seen during cranking but around 200rpm sounds about right. Is it meant to show exactly 200?

Offline gunni

• BHP: 37
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 06:57:23 pm »
Hi Jack. Where are you located again? Maybe I should just visit to help you get it going.

Offline Jackmcl