Author Topic: Nearly stalling when starting from cold  (Read 39578 times)

Offline Tony C

• BHP: 8
    • Capriracing
Nearly stalling when starting from cold
« on: February 17, 2007, 09:55:30 am »
Not really a problem, but something i have been working on for many months now,
When starting from cold the engine fires ok BUT then the revs drop to near stalling then pick up again,
does not matter what temp the engine is when first started it does this, it is ok when been running, if you switch off after starting from cold and start straight away its also fine,

any ideas?????

Vems Ecu, Twin Plenum efi and N2o
13.314 @ 104.39 mph (10/06/07 3.9 v8)
Sponsored by: www.caprisport.com & www.interpart.biz
Web site: http://www.capriracing.co.uk

Vems Firmware: V1.1.74

Offline [email protected]

• BHP: 49
    • VEMS Forum
Re: Nearly stalling when starting from cold
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2007, 04:41:39 pm »
What sort of pulsewidths do you see on the main screen?
You're probably looking to make a change in the Priming/Cranking/Afterstart settings, once the engine is in afterstart you are either going too rich or too lean.  The Pulsewidth gauge and/or datalogs will tell you by how much.

Rob

Offline Tony C

• Capriracing
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2007, 05:21:17 pm »
i will do a datalog and check the PW gauge in the morning when i do another cold start mate,
ta very much.

Offline cliffb75

• Global Moderator
  • BHP: 10
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2007, 07:27:46 pm »
Based on the fact that you've said a re-start is fine, then it will be lean in the afterstart. The reason it re-starts better is that the additional fuel from the first start is left hung-up in the ports, which then gets added to to the normal afterstart fuel which is applied during the re-start.