Author Topic: Tooth Length Error???  (Read 469 times)

Offline Samuelbrownfield

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • BHP: 1
    • View Profile
Tooth Length Error???
« on: June 07, 2017, 08:14:49 pm »
Sorry for the potentially obvious question, but I can't find an answer anywhere.

What exactly does tooth length error mean?  That there is too much gap between teeth, or that the air gap to the sensor is off?

I have stock VR sensors on 944T, new VEMS install and getting those errors at >4500rpm.

Offline Samuelbrownfield

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • BHP: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2017, 09:09:58 pm »
Well in case any one has this same issue, installing a FAE sensor with the same gap as the Bosch and Facet sensors I had tried seems to be fixing it.

Offline PeepPaadam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • BHP: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 02:33:01 pm »
I will rasie this topic as I need to solve this. On several 944 Turbos (all with same "auditrigger, 132+1 VR)  customers have had tooth lenth errors. Always at around 5000-5500 rpm. Tried several different sensors, several different sensor gaps but no difference.
Before sending out I always bench test the ECU and it works fine.

Please instruct what should I provide in order to resolve this issue.

Offline MWfire

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 679
  • BHP: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2017, 11:05:25 pm »
Did you remove pull up resistor?

Offline PeepPaadam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • BHP: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2017, 02:34:43 am »
You mean R30?

Offline fphil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • BHP: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2017, 12:14:06 pm »
One should also know the software which is behind this error

Offline PeepPaadam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • BHP: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2017, 12:50:56 pm »
Firmware 1.2.32, always the same base config (I make PnP adapters for 944 Turbos) and out of 50+ pcs made 3-4 have had the issue. Others have no issues with trigger errors, clean as whistle up to rpm limiter 6700-7000 (depending on engine mods). All adapters, VEMS units etc are identical regarding config.

Should I try to remove R30? Use series resistor?

Offline fphil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • BHP: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2017, 01:49:20 pm »
I meant the software lines of code, because there may me a threshold which detects that the tooth length is longer or shorter than expected. Hence there may be little depending on engines to have the error raised or not

Offline PeepPaadam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • BHP: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2017, 02:17:18 pm »
Ok, how can I help/what to do to help to determine this?

Offline fphil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • BHP: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2017, 04:39:12 pm »
Wiki / Vemsupport?

Offline PeepPaadam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • BHP: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2017, 09:35:13 pm »
Ok, but what should I provide for it?

Offline fphil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • BHP: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Tooth Length Error???
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2017, 01:41:57 am »
I think it is said somewhere on Vzms.hu. At you should create your own wiki page on your speudo name.