Author Topic: Setting up Boost on wideband  (Read 22225 times)

Offline ranz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • BHP: 6
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #30 on: March 12, 2009, 06:00:38 am »
Today I made measurements at 100kPa to 200kPa with 10kPa step. The values are almost similar to these what i calculated.
Now seems that boost log works fine for me:


Now the only problem (not wery big) is that megatune does not show me values in kPa. Also my RPM input has some random spikes down, i don't know what is the problem with that. Also the button doesn't work anymore, at setting 128 and holding the button down for few seconds, it shows me analog in at the bottom field, but holding it a little bit longer, it showed something like -FA at both fields. Tried to play with different settings also, but without result.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2009, 07:51:11 am by ranz »

Offline z0tya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 249
  • BHP: 11
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #31 on: March 12, 2009, 06:20:38 pm »
Yes we have the rpm spikes too. It seems to bug or some hw error. But the log usable apart from the rpm spikes.
If you play with the curve, you get abs pressure in the log and the gauge too.
Some maths:)

Offline ranz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • BHP: 6
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #32 on: March 12, 2009, 06:53:34 pm »
If you play with the curve, you get abs pressure in the log and the gauge too.
Some maths:)
I have played with the curve and with the calibration, but i don't get even close to that what I want.
How to understand the analog in curve, what do these values mean?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2009, 06:46:15 pm by ranz »

Offline Ellisd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • BHP: 4
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #33 on: March 13, 2009, 07:42:19 pm »
If you want to have a go using my config file, just click on the link below to download it

https://www.yousendit.com/download/UmNKd0VBdWNubVd4dnc9PQ

Offline ranz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • BHP: 6
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #34 on: March 13, 2009, 11:23:31 pm »
I tried your settings, no good for me :(
Can anyone explain me what does the calibration mean, and to what does rows in analog in curve answer to?

Offline rob@vems.co.uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3115
  • BHP: 49
    • VEMS Forum
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #35 on: March 13, 2009, 11:26:48 pm »
Hi, I am a bit confused because you said in an earlier post that boostlogging was fine for you.
What has happened to change that?
What is it that you are aiming for?

Offline ranz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • BHP: 6
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #36 on: March 13, 2009, 11:58:40 pm »
Boost logging works fine, but the gauge in megatune doesn't.
I measured different pressure points and writed up values from megatune. From that i got formula for logging: (value - 985)/3.15 then log shows me pressure in kPa.
But I want to get the megatune (then gauge shows that to) show value in kPa-s. As i understand, for that i need to change calibration value and analog in curve, but i don't understand them... what does they exacly do. Right now my settings are: calibration 255, offset 0 and analog in 0 - 15 - 30 - 45 etc.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 12:01:54 am by ranz »

Offline ranz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • BHP: 6
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #37 on: March 20, 2009, 04:58:59 am »
With little help from z0tya my system works now how I wanted to. Now i can see boost in kPa at gauge to and offcourse log it.
Ho did I do it:
S2 3B original 200BAR MAP
I connected my compressor variable output (with gauge: 0 to 2,5BAR) directly to MAP input.
z0tya gave me somekinde of numbers what he calculated, I inserted them and started to play with them.
Calibration setting 32, offset 0
First I needed to get 100 reading at atmosphere pressure, changed numbers at analog in to get it.
Now raised compressor oputput to 0,5BAR and played with numbers to get reading 150, then output to 2BAR and played to get 200 reading. After that tested other readings, 0,1BAR - 110, 0,2BAR - 120, 0,3 - 130 etc. I din't have to change any more numbers at analog in curve becase it was enough only measure 3 points (0BAR - 1,5BAR - 2BAR).
These are numbers from analog in curve:
0 - 0
1 - 0
2 - 0
3 - 0
4 - 0
5 - 0
6 - 0
7 - 0
8 - 18
9 - 30
10 - 55
11 - 106
12 - 145
13 - 180
14 - 220
15 - 225
16 - 240
First 7 rows are 0 becase they din't change the reading, also are 15 and 16 set to linear in because they din't cange nothing also.

Now i borrowed my friends ECU what has 300BAR MAP and did the same thing.
Calibration 64, offset 0
Measured 5 points (0 - 0,5 - 1 - 1.5 - 2BAR) to get right reading (played vith analog in curve) and other readings between measured points where rigt also.
These are numbers from this analog in curve:
0 - 0
1 - 0
2 - 0
3 - 0
4 - 0
5 - 0
6 - 0
7 - 0
8 - 5
9 - 15
10 - 41
11 - 74
12 - 106
13 - 136
14 - 169
15 - 225
16 - 240
First 7 and 2 last are same as it was previously.

Now i'm wating my order from vems and when my stuff arrives, I'll measure the VEMS 300BAR MAP also.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2009, 05:03:44 am by ranz »

Offline rob@vems.co.uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3115
  • BHP: 49
    • VEMS Forum
Re: Setting up Boost on wideband
« Reply #38 on: March 20, 2009, 05:38:19 am »
As long as you've got the information you need then we're all happy!  Thanks to z0tya for his help.